Rohith Manhas, winner of the 2014 BC Export Awards' International Business Studies Award, with Colin Doerr, Director, Communications and Programs, from BCCIE at the 2014 BC Export Awards

Congrats to Rohith Manhas, a 2014 BC Export Award winner

Jan 28, 2015    Source: Chantal Moore


BCCIE recently interviewed Rohith Manhas, a fourth-year student at SFU’s Beedie School of Business on his win of the 2014 BC Export Awards’ International Business Studies Award.

Manhas earned the 2014 Award for his term as a co-op student in Mumbai, India, where he worked with Fortune 500 companies on event management and market analysis. He has also worked for the Canada Business Council and Surrey Board of Trade, where he was named one of the Top 25 under 25.

“I have had a personal milestone to win this Award since 2012,” said Manhas. “An Award like this celebrates some of the work I have done in the field of International Business, but it is just a stepping stone, not an end-point.”

On how the Award shaped his future perspective

“In the real world, clients are scattered everywhere, resources are geographically dispersed, and you’re working with diverse teams. It’s important to get things done for the client in the way they are used to. The fact I’ve gone through this international experience will help me in the workforce, especially in BC where we have a very diverse population.”

When asked about his future plans, Manhas said he will continue working as an international business consultant or entrepreneur with a focus on new technologies and media. He encourages students who are thinking of working or studying abroad to take the leap of faith: “Don’t think too much about it – just do it.”

More about the BC Export Awards

Each year, the International Business Studies Award recognizes a post-secondary student who has shown leadership and excelled in international studies while contributing to the BC export community.

The Award was sponsored by the BC Council for International Education and presented at a gala on November 12, 2014. You can read more about the Award here.