New leaders appointed to BCCIE’s board of directors

Oct 10, 2018    Source: Chelsea Dibble


The BC Council for International Education is welcoming three new members to its board of directors this fall. With diverse experience in education and a long-standing tradition of community service, Shawn Chisholm, Dr. Michel Tarko, and Dr. Jay Yule bring valuable insight and experience to the BCCIE board.

BCCIE’s board of directors oversees the organization’s mandate in advancing the international education interests of the government and people of British Columbia.

Shawn Chisholm is the Executive Director of the Federation of Independent School Associations in British Columbia (FISA). Before joining FISA, Shawn worked for the Catholic school system for more than two decades, most recently as the principal of St. Ann’s Academy in Kamloops, BC. Originally from Newfoundland, Shawn has a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Simon Fraser University, and a Bachelor and Master’s degree in Education from the University of British Columbia.

Dr. Michel Tarko is President and CEO of the Justice Institute of BC. Prior to his appointment in 2012, he served as JIBC Vice President, Academic, as well as Associate Dean and Dean for the Faculty of Health Sciences at Douglas College. Michel has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Criminology from the University of Manitoba and a PhD in Education from the University of British Columbia, as well as a Diploma in Psychiatric Nursing from the Manitoba School for Psychiatric Nursing.

Dr. Jay Yule is Superintendent of Schools in Powell River, BC and the Executive Director of the Powell River Educational Services Society. Jay’s past community service includes board member of the Vancouver Aboriginal Skills & Employment Partnership (VANASEP), President of the Powell River Economic Development Society, and President of the BC Council for Children with Behaviour Disorders. Jay has a Bachelor and Master’s degree in Education, and a Doctorate in Education from Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

The three leaders join current board members:

Sherri Bell (Chair), President, Camosun College

Feroz Ali, President, Canadian Tourism College

Robin Ciceri, President, Research Universities Council of British Columbia

Paul Irwin, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Jobs, Trade and Technology

Tony Loughran, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training

Neil Mort, Vice President, Enrollment and Student Services, Acsenda School of Management

Paul Squires, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education

Jordan Tinney, Superintendent of Schools and CEO, Surrey Schools


Randall Martin, Executive Director, BCCIE

“We are honoured to have three new and enthusiastic board members with such tremendous energy, ideas, and experience. Their contributions and insight will bring a new depth of leadership, commitment, and expertise to our organization.”